Nothing to Say? Sing!


Today in Church Varun and I met a very friendly family from Pakistan. They mentioned how difficult it is to get their children to speak Urdu, their mother tongue. Once in the car, Varun lamented his gradual loss of Hindi, while I lamented the loss of my Hindi teacher.

We made a deal: speak Hindi unless the situation is urgent, complicated or important. (Which basically means the only thing spoken in Hindi will be the random anecdotes. And you can guess who does most of the talking which involves, “Guess what I saw on facebook!” Yup. Guess I’ll need to learn how to say, “You might not find this interesting” in Hindi).

Anyway. By about lunchtime my brain was fried. So, I resorted to singing bollywood songs, a simple solution as they are in Hindi, and are generally about love stories and other people’s lives (a major topic of conversation for me).

But, not wanting to horde these gems, I thought I’d share a few of my favorites with you.

This is from Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, the song I sang over lunch today. It means, “Something happened” (as in, something magical…when i met you…) It’s about a boy and girl who fall in love. A must see! And a classic bollywood music video.

This fantastic video is from Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge or, the Big-Hearted will take the Bride, which ran for 15 years. Typo? No. Actually. It’s a must see. It’s about a boy who met a girl. They fell in love but weren’t supposed to.

This video is from Kabhi Khushi Kabhi gham, which means, “Sometimes happy, sometimes sad”. It’s about a boy and a girl who fall in love. Who shouldn’t have. And I love it not because the song is super catchy, but because it’s my dream to be at a party where people dance like this.

This video is from Dil Se. Which I haven’t seen, but it means “From the heart”. I’m going to guess it’s about a boy and a girl who fell in love. And shouldn’t have. This music video is catchy, and is also the single song I’ve had the most fun dancing to ever (See: Thanksgiving 2007).

While this video doesn’t deserve to even be on the same page, the music and dancing are great. This is Bride and Prejudice. A not-quite-bollywood-not-quite-hollywood version of, you guess it: Pride and Prejudice. Try watching it without at least bobbing your head. I usually listen to it while brushing my teeth before facing the world.

Enjoy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shellieos
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 23:03:06

    How are we not better friends?

    Reply

  2. Vicki
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 19:12:38

    It’s always the same actors!

    Keep posting. I check your blog regularly for updates. ;)

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Surprised by Hindi « ESL Marriage
  4. Trackback: Road trip! « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
