Diwali


This past weekend was Diwali. Diwali is one of the most important festivals in the Hindu calendar and is celebrated across India and around the world. Being a festival of lights, Diwali is celebrated by lighting candles around the house as well as lighting firecrackers!

So, Varun and I decided we needed to celebrate. So, we grabbed our Indian friend Liz and went to Toronto’s Gerrard street India Bazaar to partake in the festivities.

We found a sweets shop with mounds and mounds of Indian sweets.


Varun was so overwhelmed. He was just wandering about looking at all the sweets.

After buying a pound of Indian sweets, we went to see the dancing. These girls are my heroes.


Next, we saw Dandia. This is a traditional Gujarati dance with sticks! I was hoping to see lots of people in a circle like I’ve seen in the movies, but these girls wow-ed me nevertheless. Liz and I vowed to sign up for Bhangra in January and improve our moves.

Dandia

After the dancing, we warmed up with cups of chai. It was lovely! I’m hoping to go to India one year for Diwali, as Varun tells me they light firecrackers on the street that are so big, they’d be illegal here. Sounds awesome! Happy Diwali!!!

Varun and me

P.S. In case you don’t watch The Office, this is a poor quality video but hilarious excerpt from the Diwali episode they once did. Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 22:17:04

    I’ve never heard of Diwali until this year when I asked Nadine why there were Christmas lights already up and some on the ground. Glad you had fun :) Ever been to All Indian Sweets on 49th and Main?

    Reply

  2. Trackback: In Pictures: the Move « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
