Dinner At Our House


I’ve been reading “Under the Tuscan Sun” and decided to get in touch with my Italian roots. We invited a friend over for dinner and I spent the better part of an afternoon making homemade pumpkin ice cream, biscotti and eggplant parmesan.

It was delicious. I am now committed to preserving my culinary heritage.

To my knowledge, Varun has never had biscotti, so I proudly handed him one to taste.

Varun: Mmm. (Gulp) It’s….good. A bit dry though.
Me: Well it’s supposed to be. The name actually means “twice baked”. You bake it twice to dry it out so you can dip it in coffee.
Varun: So you do more work so it tastes worse?
Me: Umm.

While Varun made us chai, my friend and I were discussing guys she could potentially be interested in.

Friend: He was 5’3″.
Me: Oh wow, even I couldn’t handle someone that short. Varun’s at least 5’4″ (I was joking, he’s taller).
Friend: How tall are you Varun?
Varun: Somewhere between…as tall as a dog standing on it’s hind legs and a lion standing on it’s hind legs.
(Shocked pause)
(Raucous laughter)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 13:50:00

    loves it!

    Reply

  2. Vicki
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 00:41:14

    HeheheHahahaHoooohoo!!!
    Oh boy. How I miss these “shocked pause” moments…

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
