Fa La La La La


Christmas is a time full of parties, presents and, in our household, confusion. Having been brought up Hindu, Varun’s experiences celebrating Christmas were quite limited. Until he met me and spent Christmas with my family. In my world, Christmas starts in mid-november, so Varun has about six weeks of Christmas music, pine-scented candles and me drafting “Dear Santa” letters. Naturally, Christmas is on his mind.

Yesterday, we were visiting friends and Varun told them that I play the harp. They got super excited and began asking me lots of questions.

Varun: Angels play the harp.
Everyone: Awww…(looking from Varun to me adoringly)
Someone: Wow he just got a lot of points with Amelia.
Varun: (singing) HARP the herald angels siiiiiiing! Glory to the newborn king!

____________________________________________________

Varun: Jesus did not have blond hair and blue eyes. He probably looked like me.
Me: (rolling eyes)
Varun: I can prove that Jesus was brown.
Me: Oh really? Please do.
Varun: (singing) “Brown young viiiiiiirgin, mother and child”.
Me: Um no, it’s “round yon virgin”.
Varun: Round yon virgin? What does that even mean?
Me:…?

(Now every time we sing Silent Night Varun jabs me and giggles. Even, and especially, in Church)

Choosing our Christmas Tree During American Thanksgiving

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 00:03:34

    Tears came to my eyes… this is really funny

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Birthday Love « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
