Random


Last night, Varun and I were standing next to each other looking in the mirror while brushing our teeth.

Me: Wow, we really are SO different. Black hair, blondish hair. Dark skin, light skin. Brown eyes, green eyes.
Varun: (continues brushing)
Me: Man, you have such nice, big eyes. I want bouri, bouri ankhein (What I mean to say was big, big eyes. What I said was brown, brown eyes. Bouri=brown, Bari=big.)
Varun: Well, I guess the eyes are always greener on the other side.
Me: Huh?…Oh. HAHAH! I meant big eyes, not brown eyes! I like my green eyes, especially since my kids won’t have them…*

*I’m not super at biology, but I think it’s impossible. Thoughts?
_______________________________________________

In other news, I wish with all of my heart that this would happen in real life. Someday…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 20:48:39

    All I know is that I have friends who are interracial: he is white, she is African-American. They have a blond-haired, blue-eyed, white skinned son and even the mom said she could not believe he came out of her own body. After seeing that, I think anything is possible! :)

    Reply

  2. peggy
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 21:55:00

    That’s what I thought too in terms of hair colour, that our kids would never be blonde. I was proven wrong when Meaghan came out with strawberry blonde hair– and she still gets blonde highlights in the summer. btw, i was actually looking at her eyes today and they are hazel-brown.

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 15:41:50

    It’s basically a game of probabilities, and also what genes Varun carries. Your child would need to have both recessive genes for green eyes, for that colour to be expressed. All other combinations (dominant-recessive, or dominant-dominant) will express brown eyes because that gene is dominant. So it’s not impossible, just unlikely… That was a really simplistic explanation but hopefully that helps.

    Reply

  4. Amelia
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 15:48:47

    Hmm, Okay. So there is hope…maybe. I guess we’ll have to wait and find out!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
