Bureaucracy: 6 Amelia: 1


(This might sound like complaining. I’m going to a call it A Rant.)

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, having a cross-cultural marriage in a third country results in a life complicated by various visa/passport/immigration issues.

This past month, I have fought a losing battle against bureaucracy. Today was a small, but important victory.

The Car.
To import our car from the USA, we needed to do many things including 3 notarized documents, one export, one import and jump through about 15 other paperwork hoops. Happy that I had everything in order, I went to the Ministry of Transportation two fridays ago, and was turned away. Again I went last wednesday, more paper in hand. Again I was sent away to collect more documents. At my wits end, I stood on line for an hour again yesterday, and was declined (tears were imminent). After myriad phone calls, tons of money in shipping documents back and forth…today I finally got the Ontario license plate for the car! This may seem insignificant, but it really is one small step for mankind!

The Wife.
(Ie, getting me status in India)
I also lost round 5 of The Battle of Indian Immigration. To spare you the gory details, after $200 of mailing documents across the continent several times, the Embassy in country #1 still refuses my application unless Embassy in country #2 “attests” our marriage certificate. And country #2 won’t do it because of jurisdiction issues. Maybe it’s time for a courthouse wedding. Just kidding. Kind of.

Next step: go to the Embassy (again), wait on line for a few hours (again) and try to get someone to help me. On a positive note, last time I was at the Indian Embassy I was told, “Now you’re Indian”. So. there you have it. (I just need that in writing…with a raised seal…)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steph
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 02:31:53

    my goodness, i would go bonkers! good job!

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 02:48:28

    Amelia – you won me as a follower in your first sentence!!! “… having a cross-cultural marriage in a third country results in a life complicated by various visa/passport/immigration issues.”

    I know exactly what you are going through and I’ve been looking for others having similar experiences. Bureaucracy and I are about Team Oyeniyi 2 – Bureaucracy 1 at the moment, so we are slightly ahead. Although financially and emotionally we are probably -25!

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 02:55:27

    I have linked you blog on my home page – please let me know if you would prefer I didn’t. As you are moderating your comments, this comment is just to let you know I’ve done that – it isn’t really for publishing! :)

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Mar 19, 2011 @ 13:34:42

      Thanks for letting me know :-) Looking forward to checking our your blog as well! It’s true: we do have unique experiences and it’s nice to be able to understand/share/vent!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: My Country ’tis of Thee « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
