Cricket World Cup Champions!


It’s not everyday that I wake up at 4:21 a.m. to watch sports games. In fact, last saturday was a first. As I mentioned when India beat Pakistan last week in cricket, I’m a bit of a band wagon jumper when it comes to sports competitions. But at 4:21 am on saturday, I was more like a reluctant and coffee-less band wagon straggler.

Varun and our Indian friend J and I went to watch the final cricket match at an Indian family’s house who has basically adopted us. There, the guys bounded downstairs to watch the match and I fell asleep. I was quickly woken up, however, by cheering and enthusiastic shouts.

Thankfully, Dosa’s were prepared for breakfast, along with coffee, and the sun began to rise. As the game dragged on (errr…sped by), I napped on the couch next to Varun, got into debates, watched the game and attempted to do schoolwork. (A dosa is a fried pancake wrapped around something spicy and delicious. They’re fantastic)

It was an intense game. Especially the last 2 hours (I don’t think you can say that about any games except Risk and Cricket). India matched Sri Lanka point for point, India’s best player got out early in the game and right up until the end we were in serious suspense.

But much to our joy, India won!

I learned a lot about cricket on saturday. I learned that it’s a “two-meal sport”, and that you should never, never tell an Indian that cricket “doesn’t require much physical skill”.

I have to say, waking up before the sun was totally worth it to see India win the Cricket World Cup for the first time since 1983! Fireworks started immediately and we received texts and phone calls from Indian loved ones. I wish we had been there to celebrate!!!

Text received from Varun's Mom promptly after India won

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 11:56:38

    I don’t follow cricket (even when I was back home it was hard to get into it), but my FB newsfeed has been filled with cricket comments the last week or so, so I have some inkling of what’s been going on. But the real reason I’m commenting now is to say I’m so jealous that you have been “adopted” by an Indian family who can make dosas and idlis and sambar. I’ve been looking for a South Indian restaurant here in Montreal, but no luck so far! :(

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 05:44:19

    As can be expected from me: “NO COMMENT”!!

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. Mindy Obara
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 14:06:33

    I don’t understand cricket… at all… so you can explain it to me when you come visit ;)

    Hurray, India!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
