Lunch/dessert/dinner/dessert/tea/dessert/breakfast/dessert


One of the downsides about living in a city and country that neither of our families live in is that we don’t get to spend a lot of time with family. Yesterday, however, my awesome parents and brother woke up at 5 am, drove to Ontario had lunch/dessert/dinner/dessert/tea/dessert/breakfast/dessert with us and drove back home in time for Sunday evening Mass. Epic.

Because this was the First Visit of Parents to Newlyweds, we were intent on cleaning our house. While I cleaned the bathroom, I asked Varun to sweep/vacuum. Much to my surprise, he moved the furniture, swept, cleaned the broom, swept again, cleaned the broom again, took out the trash now filled with floor dust, cleaned the vacuum cleaner, vacuumed, swept again and cleaned the trashcan lid. All part of “vacuuming”. Seriously, this man is thorough.

We finished just moments before my parents arrived and welcomed them with the gourmet fixings of a mid-20’s couple: frozen pizza. We then took them down for a walk along Lake Ontario.

I love this pic because they're so genuinely happy!

Varun and Dad talked about Engineering and business while Mom, Luke and I caught up on life, speculated about passerby’s and planned Luke’s trip to India with Varun and I this summer.

Back at home we introduced my parents to Bhel Puri, which is a snack consisting of raw onions, raw tomatoes, chutney, crispy crackers and loads of spices. My mother had tears running down her cheeks from the spices!!! The best part of the evening was the butter chicken, which I think I have now perfected. It was creamy, not too spicy and a huge hit! (The recipe is here) (As I read that, I shudder. How can I, a white girl who grew up on pasta, meat and potatoes write such a statement? Indians of the world, forgive me. It’s decent. Not perfect)

At one point, my parents pulled out cannoli shells and filling, a staple in my Italian family. I was beyond excited. Varun grabbed a spoon and put a dollop on the shell. We all looked confused. Of course, everyone began giving him instructions about how to fill a cannoli, at which point he broke it. We then helped him fill one and got him to taste it. His response? “Whooa. This is too sweet for my soul”. I promptly polished off the remains.

The night ended with multiple rounds of Monopoly Deal in which Mom and Luke pretended to be confused and both won. My Mom drank about 1 litre of Varun’s chai and claims that she can, “Never drink store-bought chai again”. So, if engineering and counseling don’t work out, I think Varun and I will be opening a butter chicken and chai shop.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. easylifestyles
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 01:38:09

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time with my family is something that truly makes me happy in life. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Fun Family Activity Ideas

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 04:44:16

    Hey – I’m borrowing your husband! Mine had no idea about vaccuming (he does now) as they really do not have carpets in his neck of the woods – solid timber floors and rugs which get beaten outside.

    Love butter chicken and chai, so I’ll be a customer! :lol:

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 11:04:27

    Hi Amelia,
    When will you post your butter chicken recipe? I’d love to surprise Matt and Grace with it some evening. Hope all is well!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
