The Proposal


Me: Guess what tomorrow is?!
Varun: (Deer in the headlights look) Tomorrow. Today is May…13th. No, 16th.
Me: (Smiling sweetly)
Varun: (Beginning to get that Nervous Husband Look) The day we started… (Brain firing on all cylinders) The day we got engaged!

See what just two years of marriage can teach a man!

It’s true. Three years ago, in a land far, far away….(insert harp strum here)…I’d write the whole story, but you’d probably fall asleep into your bowl of cereal. So here’s the cliff notes.

Varun and I had gone to India to Meet The Parents after a year of dating. Perhaps it was endorphins produced by love or simply an evolutionary instinct to attract a mate, but the idea of spending 5 weeks in a foreign country meeting my boyfriend’s parents was not intimidating to me. I got off the plane filled with excitement and malaria pills.

My first clue should have been Day #2. We were sitting watching TV when Varun came in with one of those ring sizers they have at the jewelry store. He put it on his cousin, his sister, and me. Through my haze of culture shock and jet lag, this didn’t seem odd to me. The odds of someone owning such a device were just as likely as the Jeweler sitting in the next room waiting for my measurement. Which he was. Go figure.

Fast forward. Somewhere along the line Varun and I have a talk about when to get engaged. Varun took the pragmatic approach and suggested waiting several months. I tried all of my female ploys, to no avail. (Now, pretend you’re me and didn’t realize Varun was merely trying to throw me off his scent)

Fast forward. Family outing to the Taj Mahal! If you can believe it, we woke up at 2 AM in order to drive 4 hours to get to the Taj Mahal because by about 6:01 AM, the marble heats up and the place is 45+ degrees C (that’s 113 F for those of you in Burma, Liberia and the US). Suffice to say, the Taj Mahal was gorgeous.

Here’s an excerpt from a note I wrote the day after…

The Taj Mahal is an incredible monument built by Shah Jahan in memory of his beloved wife…as such, it’s known as the symbol of love. From the 18 storey high marble dome to the intricately cut oynx flowers the Taj is by far the most incredible, detailed and beautiful building i’ve seen anywhere I’ve ever been!

As we walked through our guided tour in the heat, Varun asked me what love meant to me. …after the tour, Varun and I walked off by ourselves and continued our conversation. Varun was being so sweet and soo romantic, I think I was beginning to melt with joy…or maybe the heat, hehe.

…He pulled out a ring and asked me if i would marry him. YES! I said as I threw my arms around him!!!!! I was totally thrilled—and almost speechless. Varun told me about love and how he felt God has called him to love me…It was a fantastic day and a surprise and way better than I could have ever imagined!

Let’s be honest. If you’ve been reading this blog for long, you’re probably wondering where the Blooper Reel is. Well, look no further.

Right before I said “YES!”, I said, “Are you KIDDING me?!” Now. In my defense, the man had just spent two weeks convincing me that wedded bliss was a long time coming. Also, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m an extrovert and can’t think and breathe and talk simultaneously. (The latter two generally trump the first)

The second funny thing that happened was Varun, right after slipping the ring on my finger, gasped, “I forgot to kneel down!”. In a moment of true grace and panache, I said, “That’s okay. Here, Ask again”, slipping the ring off and handing it back. It’s amazing what you can get away with when you’re drunk on love.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vibhuti
    May 17, 2011 @ 15:16:45

    God Bless You guys and wish you happiness always….!!
    And i actually do remember this entire episode like it happened yesterday.. And can feel the 45degrees too.. (its as hot today as wel..!)

    Reply

  2. Jill
    May 17, 2011 @ 16:55:47

    What a great read and a great proposal! :)

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    May 18, 2011 @ 07:47:40

    I love it! Terrific tale of love and romance!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Feels Like India « ESL Marriage
  5. Lisa
    May 17, 2012 @ 08:45:54

    What a sweet and thoughtful proposal. I love the blooper reel. I was just thinking about my own engagement blooper reel on my drive in this morning.

    Reply

  6. Miranda
    May 17, 2012 @ 08:46:34

    Burma, Liberia, and the US… what do those countries have in common? What a great story!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
