The Mombie Diaries ©


This is the title of my Mommy Blog. It is copyrighted because I said so put a © next to it. It is so named because I anticipate lack of sleep and feeling like a zombie.

You’re curious, aren’t you? A Mommy Blog, why that could only mean one thing: I have too much free time on my hands. I spend far too much time brain-storming random ideas and this was one of them. [Breathe, we’re not expecting!]

But speaking about being fruitful and multiplying. About once a week I find out on Facebook or Twitter or CBC that one of my friends is pregnant. For minutes I dream about fuzzy pink blankets and chubby baby cheeks. Then something pops up on my newsfeed from a parent who was up all night tending a screaming babe. And I doubt my own survival skills and move on with my day.

Seriously though, and I’m talking to you Mr/Ms I Don’t Want Kids Right Now/I’m Not Married So I Don’t Have To Worry About It (Whew), I am scared about the incredible responsibility and the enormous sleep deficit which parenting involves. I think parents are heroes. [Also, I think coffee is effective]

Usually, I find fatigue overwhelming and wonder hopelessly, “How can I ever be a Mom?!”. Last night, due to poor planning, an intensive course and too much socializing, I only got 3.5 hours of sleep so I could study for a test today. I woke up, wrote my test, did a presentation, went for a run…and thought, “Why, I’m awake and (mostly) alert. Maybe I could do the whole Up All Night Mom thing.” Maybe.

So, babies. Did you know there’s a website which “generates” a picture of your Not Yet Conceived/Born children? Just upload a picture of yourself and your spouse and…TA-DA!

"Our Baby"

I think this baby is seriously upset. Okay, my results were less than inspiring. Also, it saved to my desktop as “angry baby”, so I’m thinking the website is nothing more than a data base.

I dunno though, maybe she has my eyes…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 19:45:49

    I am dying right now. That baby is EXACTLY what your and Varun’s progeny is going to look like. Not. That baby has major issues and probably a Mom that’s NOT willing to stay up all night.

    Be careful though, with the sleep thing. I’m telling you that the realization that you can make it on less sleep is a powerful, powerful drug. I’m still fighting to come off of it. Just the knowledge that you have the power to get by on 3 hours of sleep is, in fact, incredible power. How we use that power becomes, as Gandalf would agree, one of the most important decisions we can make in life.

    Hopefully you’ll only be tempted for the good of your children. Future children, that is.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Either I Really Meant It, Or I’ve Reached a Creative Wall « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
