Choose Your Own Adventure


Remember those books? About 1/3 of the way through, you got to choose whether you wanted to follow the bank robber or tell the police. And whatever you chose would launch you into a whole other story and, ultimately, a different ending. It’s fun when it’s a book. It’s less fun when it’s your digestive tract.

Our trip to India is rapidly approaching. Besides packing sari’s, amassing presents and watching endless amounts of Bollywood in a last minute attempt to become proficient in Hindi and dancing, I have been preparing my digestive tract. For those of you who know me well, you know this is not my greatest asset. Trips overseas to Africa and Asia have blessed me with parasites, a bacterial overgrowth and general intestinal malaise. I don’t drink the water or eat street food, heck, I don’t even brush my teeth with tap water. But somehow, my stomach manages (usually on the day of a long carride or important event) to rebel.

In hopes of avoiding any intestinal drama, I have begun a ritual of probiotic pills, yogurt, mentally preparing myself for no fresh vegetables for two weeks and a little something called Dukarol. (This is where it gets hairy.) I suggested to my younger brother Luke, who is accompanying us to India, to get a prescription for this lovely little drug that is advertised in Canada as a preventative against traveler’s diarrhea. However, it turns out that the FDA hasn’t approved it. WHO has and the UN gives it out like candy, but my own country doesn’t condone it. So here I am, in Canada, $85 poorer and holding a bottle of “Inactivated traveler’s diarrhea and cholera” (Catchy, right? YUM). Do I drink it? Or do I follow the advice of the FDA and run far, far away?

“You take the blue pill and the story ends. You wake in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill and you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes…”-Morpheus, The Matrix

To drink the medicine and risk stomach cramps, traveler’s diarrhea and cholera, turn to page 102.

To not drink the medicine and risk stomach cramps, traveler’s diarrhea and cholera, turn to page 123.

Well folks, luckily for you, we get to find out the ending to BOTH stories! Because I drank it. And Luke didn’t. Check back in a couple of weeks to find out who the lucky winner of the intestinal roulette was…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Rafferty
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 19:52:31

    Great writing, great post!!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Delhi Belly « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
