Happy Holidays!


This morning, Varun and I were driving to Church and neither of us had consumed our requisite cup of caffeine (or two). We weren’t entirely on our game.

Me: Oh! Let’s call our Dad’s and wish them Happy Father’s day.
Varun: (Mumble…mumble…zzzz)

I start dialing the phone and Varun puts it on speaker phone so I don’t talk and drive.
Me: Hey! I was using that.
Varun: Yes, well, it’s wrong to use it when you’re driving.
Me: Well, I do lots of stuff that’s wrong.
Varun: Well, that’s wrong.
(I’m stumped here)

I call my Dad. (You know the drill)

Me: Okay, your turn.
Varun: (Dials phone) Hello Papa! Happy Father’s day! Happy Father’s day! How are you?
[Insert 15 minute conversation here]
Varun: Okay, I have to go now….Oh, no. I was just calling to wish you a Happy Father’s Day. (Pause) Yes, it’s a real holiday! Haha, yeah, that’s why I’m calling! (Pause) Yes, Americans do think of holidays for everything.

[I haven’t even told him about Pie Day and Ice Cream Day yet]

So: it’s Father’s Day, FYI.

I would like to say a huge THANK YOU to my Dad, who is by far the funniest/punniest (I couldn’t resist), most patient and most generous Dad in the world!

My Dad has taught me many valuable life lessons, including:

-The amazingness of pretzels dipped in mustard. And chocolate. (Not together, mind you)
-Humour. I won’t say my sense of humour is from him, but at least all of my lame jokes are…
-The value of love and family. My Dad was there when I jumped in a pool sans life-jacket, when I went to my first awkward prom (and second, and third…they were all awkward), he was there to intimidate Varun and to walk me down the aisle. I am one very lucky girl to have received so much love
-The importance of researching everything. All debates can be settled with an encyclopedia (remember those–books?!) or Wikipedia

Also, special thanks to my Grandfather and Papaji (Varun’s Papa), both of whom love their families with their whole heart.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go celebrate Paula Abdul’s Birthday and “Juneteenth” Day. (Dont’ believe me? Look it up!)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 20:26:41

    I love you, too, Amelia!

    And to prove your point, how is it that I never knew that Juneteenth Day is an official state holiday in 37 states!

    Dad

    Reply

  2. Domenica
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 22:31:12

    love you so much, varun also!!!!

    Reply

  3. vicky
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 23:28:53

    lol…juneteenth day?! hahah…

    ps. the pastor in your picture reminds me of david beckham :S

    Reply

  4. Ellen Lyman
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 09:56:35

    Hahaha! David Beckham! I told him and he loves it! He started dying he was laughing so hard! P.s. Amelia, he thought your post was pretty bunny, oh wait…I mean funny!

    Reply

  5. Amelia
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 10:04:53

    @ellen: AH! I’m so glad. Seriously though, he’s my secret Dad (and i blame a large part of my bunny sense of humor on Uncle David Beckham. I mean Uncle Phil.

    Reply

  6. John Rafferty
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 19:53:20

    Quick update to Varun’s comment: they do celebrate el Día del Padre here in Ecuador–so the US is not THAT crazy!

    Reply

  7. Amelia
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 06:51:21

    John–I’m sure other countries celebrate it, good to know Ecuador does. But let’s be honest, the US thinks of many odd and unusual things! Read: citrus juicers, citrus zesters, a pineapple corer/slicer, black friday, ez pass, bubble gum ice cream…

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,833 hits
