To Love and To Cherish


Last fall, we were having supper at the house of some friends.

Friend: So, how long have you two been married?
Varun: 18 months, on Tuesday.

Needless to say, everyone was very impressed that he knew to such a precise degree (We didn’t tell them we had just been talking about it on the car ride). Varun now takes pride in knowing exactly how long we’ve been married.

Me: Hmm, so now that it’s almost two years, are we still newlyweds?
Varun: In spirit, maybe. But no, I think we’re just “married people” now.

Yesterday was our two year anniversary. I cannot believe it’s already been two years of living life with my best friend. To celebrate, Varun planned a surprise outing for last Saturday. It was wonderful!

First, he brought me breakfast in bed. This is always a win: Food + bed=awesome.

Next, Varun drove us to Niagara on the Lake, an adorable town next to, as the name suggests, Niagara Falls.

After a scrumptious lunch of chicken burgers and local wine, we enjoyed delicious homemade ice cream and wandered along the storefronts. Next, we headed to the Butterfly Conservatory. Picture a large hall FILLED with exotic plants, sweeping palm trees and thousands of brilliantly colored butterflies flying about.

Varun: Um, this is kind of scary.
Me: What? How can you be afraid of pretty butterflies and not spiders?
Varun: Because they’re EVERYWHERE and landing on people!

(Both points are true)

Over the past two years I’ve learned so much: how hard it is to be loving 24/7, how to (not) make roti, how incredibly patient and generous Varun is…We’ve faced unemployment and a move across the country, we’ve said goodbye to dear friends and held hands as we met new ones. I can’t say it’s been easy, or even always fun. But I’m so thankful for the kind and strong man that God has given me to love. And I’m so thankful that he laughs along with me despite all of our confusion and differences (and gives me a lot to laugh about).

Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away.”-Song of Solomon 8:7

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 02:55:13

    Is there a super-like button somewhere that I can click on???

    Congratulations you two! Many many many blessings in this next year of marriage :)

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:43:05

    how incredibly patient and generous Varun is…We’ve faced unemployment and a move across the country, we’ve said goodbye to dear friends and held hands as we met new ones. I can’t say it’s been easy, or even always fun. But I’m so thankful for the kind and strong man that God has given me to love. And I’m so thankful that he laughs along with me despite all of our confusion and differences (and gives me a lot to laugh about).

    Understand this TOTALLY!!!!!

    Reply

  3. John Rafferty
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 00:52:20

    good story, reflections and photos!
    But was that penultimate one an attempt at HDR? Not sure it went so well…

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
