“Prepare to Falls in Love”


In case you think all I do is hang out and go places, I’d like to change your mind. But not today. Today I border-hopped to the USA to meet up with Varun’s cousin, her husband, two daughters and in-laws. My cousin and her husband are super fun and chill, their children are adorable and inspire me to consider procreation. I love lovely people.

Back to today. We sweated. We ate pop and chips. We also did the Niagara Falls Discovery Tour.

I thought I had “done” Niagara Falls. Many times while crossing into Canada we’ve stopped for a photo op (on the Canadian side, of course. Sorry America, better view over there). But I found out today Niagara Falls (USA) has a lot more to offer!

Reminder: today was one of the hottest days on record. So we decided to bundle up in plastic ponchos and stand in the sun for an hour. Luckily, the Maid of the Mist tour gets you plenty wet as the boat creeps right into Horseshoe Falls.

I was hoping to see Jim and Pam from the Office, but that didn’t happen. So I came home and rewatched the glorious Maid of the Mist wedding scene. (Sigh) (Sorry for the lame song during the video)

As we were leaving the boat, I overheard the following:

Kid: Mom, why were the announcements in french?
Mom: Because Canadians come here and they speak french.
Kid: Why? Why do they speak french?
Mom: Because there’s a providence called Montreal and they speak french there. We can go there sometime.

Now. I KNOW geography is not everyone’s strongsuit. And I’ve met Canadians (or at least one) who think silly things about America. But this made me giggle.

Next, we climbed the stairs to get another great view. I thought I would try out my Hindi on my 2.5 year old niece/cousin/?, Saanvi.

Me: Hey, Saanvi, dekho it’s a rainbow. Dekho! (Look!) Rohit Bhayia, how do you say “rainbow” in Hindi?
Rohit Bhayia: Um. Rainbow.
Me: Oh. Uh. Look. It’s a rainbow.
Saanvi: (“Duh” face)

My favorite part was when we got to wear plastic ponchos again and do the Cave of the Winds tour. This consists of walking down to the falls and standing on a wooden staircase. Let me clarify: thousands of gallons of water are pouring over a cliff and we’re standing on a 1970’s wooden staircase amidst the rushing torrent. Um. Danger. Suffice to say, the views were epic and the drenching lake water was refreshing.

Niagara Falls definitely got a few more stars on my Places List. Did you know that in that tiny town there are 6 Indian restaurants? Apparently, I’m a trendsetter: India is in. Also, as much as the large drink sizes and larger pants sizes of Americans scares me, it was fantastic to be back in the land of Miles per Hour and “HUH?” (future post topic: “Huh” is the new “Pardon?”).

*Bonus points for figuring out the title of this post*

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 21:23:14

    Huh is the new pardon. Love it and hate it at the same time! What are we doing to language, I wonder?

    Reply

  2. Patrick Rafferty
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 13:00:17

    Dude–

    I SOOOO bombed that Prepare to Falls in Love! I was so sure that it was Niagra Falls’ new tourist motto (Canadian side, of course!), so I googled it just to make sure before making a fool of myself here, ahem, and GUESS WHAT’S THE FIRST HIT??? ESLMarriage.com….. yes! You’re famous! All rest of the links were to the correct answer, which of course was my second guess, The Office. But you were first!
    Love,

    Papa

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 14:14:06

      Wow! Great to know–I wonder how google decides what to put first..? And if there were a prize (not just “bonus points”), you’d win it.

      Reply

  3. Sharon
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 21:02:04

    Is that really your dad? And he really says “dude” and “bombed”, all in the right context? Wow. Totally does-not-compute.

    Reply

  4. Jess
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:48:48

    I can’t press the like button because I’m not a member… Dang classist web host! I’m so excited to read these!

    Reply

  5. John Rafferty
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 14:40:01

    One of the lowest points of my English classes here are when my students ask me, “LISTEN! (how they get any older person’s attention), ¿how do you say _____ en inglés? And I say….that thing’s name which doesn’t change at all. Like hotel, hot dog, full, gas or bus.

    And then I just get blank stares, really wondering if I’m actually teaching them another language, or just wasting their time.

    So I feel your pain. Also, points to Dad for googling something before saying it. I had forgotten that the office episode used that construction.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
