A Pillow’s Tale


Today at supper Varun was telling me about the new bridge project his engineering firm is doing. Varun is to design and oversee the installation of a cage which he will climb into while fixing the bridge.

Me: Um, is that safe?
Varun: (Calmly) Amelia. What’s the worst that could happen? A concrete block could fall on my head.
Me: Right. I think that is THE worst that could happen. Short of you getting abducted by aliens and having a forced sex-change operation.
Varun: (silence)
Me: RIGHT?!

On to more meaningful things…

As promised, I would like to discuss something extremely important: the use of pillows. As I’ve mentioned many times, Varun and I have odd sleeping habits. One of my worst tendencies was waking up 5 out of 7 days of the week with a massive headache. So, I did what any girl would do: I went shopping.

I should have known from the start that pillow shopping with my Indian hubby would be entertaining, to say the least.

Varun: Wait a minute. So this is an entire store of just pillows?
Me: Well, they also have decorative pillows and cute bedspreads. And…
Varun: (looks incredulous and grabs a price tag) $50? For a pillow?
Me: Yup. It’s a special pillow. It’s for….see…someone who sleeps on their back. I sleep on my side, so I need…this one!

Happily, I pulled a $35 pillow off the shelf. Unfortunately, they didn’t have my desired firmness in stock, so I had to special order it. I KNOW. How First World Problems can it get? Varun, meanwhile, stood by awestruck and wondering what exactly he had gotten himself into by marrying me.

Fast forward 22 months of neck aches and massages by one doting husband. A friend came to visit and as I put the bedclothes on the futon, I threw on my pillow. [Somewhere in the bargaining process, I had justified my more-expensive-than-monthly-supply-of-meat pillow by saying we wouldn’t buy a guest pillow. (Come visit, we really are friendly…) I digress]. By the time I climbed into bed Varun had gone to sleep and my chances of stealing his pillow were zilch.

But guess what?! I had the sleep of my life.

Four pillow-less nights thanks to a guest on our futon. And four headache-less days thanks to that same guest.

My name is Amelia and I haven’t used a pillow in 2 months.
And I’m headache free.

So, what are your thoughts? Are you a pillow addict, carrying your pillow from bed to bed, content as a clam? Or are you indifferent, never giving a pillow a second thought? Are you confused why I’m talking about pillows? (Don’t worry, I am too…)

A Post Posting Addendum:

My pillow-addicted brother, Luke. He has 8 pillows on his bed at home, and when we arrived in our hotel in India he ran to my bed and stole our pillows, settling down comfortably…I think it’s time for an intervention!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz M
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 20:26:16

    I used to wake up with stiff neck A LOT when I was in high school and had to miss a lot of early morning swim team practice because my neck/shoulders hurt so bad. My coach told me to sleep without a pillow back in grade 10 and I hardly ever get it anymore!

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 19:37:35

    I have read several times that no pillow is a good pillow. I have one of thise shaped ones that supports the neck, but has a hollow for the head, if that makes sense. I swear by them!

    Reply

  3. Jill
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 22:36:01

    You really don’t sleep with a pillow anymore? But they’re so . . . fluffy! I have 4 on my single bed.

    Reply

  4. John Rafferty
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 21:02:02

    I have been really hurting this summer, in Ecuador, with 1/3 of my normal pillow supply. I refuse to use the Ecuadorian pillow that the housemaid puts on my bed every night, so instead, just use my one down pillow. I have had terrible headaches all summer, but never once thought they could be related. I might try a new experiment tonight….

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
