Life These Days


The other night we were reading before bed and I was engrossed in a book about food allergies.
Me: Oh my gosh. Varun. Did you know you can be allergic to tap water? Maybe THAT’S the problem! Maybe you’re allergic to tap water.
Varun: (Silence)
Me: Seriously!
Varun: Tap water? Amelia. I’m Indian, that’s just embarrassing. Do you have any idea what I’ve had in my tap water?

In other news, this week has been a huge reminder that we really are guests in Canada. Besides our immigration paperwork, I received another clue courtesy of the payroll department at my university. Apparently, my social insurance number expired when my work permit did. (If I explained it, you’d probably fall asleep). Two trips to the Service Canada office later and still no Social Insurance Number, I remain paycheque-less.

Although it’s frustrating to wait for money I’ve earned, and it’s downright maddening not to be able to get a job off-campus, I’m thankful to live here. I try to remind myself of all of the wonderful things about Canada. Like HST*. Wait, never mind. At the very least, I am thankful that both Varun and I can live in the same country. And I’m hopeful about the upcoming shopping possibilities in Canadia.

Whole Foods, check. J. Crew, check. All we need now is Trader Joe's!


*Ontario has a lovely little tax called HST, which is 13% tax on every item except “basic groceries”, public transportation and prescription drugs. This is why I go crazy shopping in PA with 6% sales tax. This excludes food and drinks, clothing, shoes (shoes!!!), tanning beds, coffins, toothbrushes and internet services.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 07:52:41

    We have GST – same idea, but set at 10%.

    I too am glad you can live in the same country.

    I totally understand Varun’s attitude to the water!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
