Adventures of a Wannabe Film Aficionado


I’ll be honest, I’m not entirely sure what the difference is between the producer of a movie, and the director. Don’t get me wrong, I love watching movies. But I only know the most famous actors and would hardly call myself a film buff.

However, this weekend, for just one day, I was a pretend Film Aficionado at the Toronto International Film Festival. Geared up with contraband brownies and water bottles, Varun, my older brother John, Vasudha and I headed downtown to the festival. Because I am OCD careful, we arrived two hours early ready to battle throngs of people.

Only there weren’t any. Oddly enough, at 8 am on a Saturday morning, the streets of Toronto were more or less empty. Go figure.

After a frustrating search for the ticket pick-up, we made our way to our first movie, Goodbye. While on line (See! There was a line, it’s good we got there early. Never mind that there were only about 20 of us.) John offered to do a Starbucks run. As we gave our orders, a middle-aged man piped up behind us.

Man: Are you going to remember all that?
John: (Quizzical look)
Me: Of course he will, he’s in law school. He has a GREAT memory.
Man: LAW SCHOOL?! Why are you wasting your money on that?
John: (Shocked silence)
Man: I just read a story about these kids that sold a company for $130 million. Business. You should go in to business.
John: Well, if I thought that having $130 million would make me happy, business would be a great thing to study.

BAZINGA. Love that guy.

Anyway. Back to the movie.

It was about a woman in modern-day Iran who is trying to leave the country, but for political reasons, encounters great opposition. The stark colors, lack of music and slow pace set a pensive and sad mood. It made me incredibly curious to learn more about Iran and what life is like there. One of the Directors was there to answer questions afterward, the other was under house arrest in Iran. What a different world.

Of course after waking up at 5:30 and sitting through an intense movie we were all ready for lunch. We picked up shawarma’s and had a picnic in a park. Then, we headed to a patio and had a celebratory round (or two) for Vasudha’s birthday! Much Monopoly Deal was played.

The Birthday Girl and Me

Sangria and Monopoly Deal. Because we're big kids like that.

Varun and John, I think my sons will be a combo of these two.

Our second movie was First Man. A fantastic self-discovery film of a French man who grew up in Algeria and returned on the eve of Algeria’s fight for independence, it was colorful, simple, honest, and it had a great soundtrack. Moreover, it was in French and I spent two glorious hours listening to my favorite language. I was reminded to spend more time reading, speaking, listening to and writing in French. Je l’aime.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 21:10:44

    I don’t know the difference either.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits