To Buffalo With Love


This might be how parents feel after dropping their kids off at University:

Whew. I am glad that’s over.
And
OMG. What if I did something wrong? Will they be okay?!

Except I didn’t drop my kid off a university, or even kindergarten.

I mailed our immigration paperwork.

Sliding the application in to the envelope!

If you’ve been following this blog for more than 5 minutes, you’ll know that Varun and I have a lot of immigration concerns, and I hate paperwork. Which is not a great combination.

But, after over a year of collecting and translating birth certificates, police clearances, employment letters and 22 addresses we’ve lived at, the application is finished. Actually, it was finished two weeks ago, but Varun’s English Language Test results had the wrong birth date. I could rant about the lack of help at the IELTS testing center, but really, I’m just too happy that it’s over with. For now.

At the risk of being overly dramatic, as I handed the stuffed envelope to the Postal Worker, I wanted to admonish him, “Now BE careful!”. But as he took the envelope from my hands, I felt freedom as I watched the carefully collected documents land with a soft thump in the plastic letter box.

And then, as I walked out into the bright September afternoon, I breathed a huge sigh of relief. It’s done!

Now begins the battle of the mind in which I try not to imagine what could go wrong, what I left out, how long it will take (8-14 months!) and how soon we need status in Canada. For now, I’m going to just sit pretty and trust that our Canadian Permanent Residency will be granted, and will come the exact day we need it.

But I might obsessively check the Canada Post Website to see if they got to Buffalo safe and sound. Please come back in a Permanent Residency Shaped Envelope soon. Bon Voyage.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steph
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 15:12:47

    good job!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: What $488 Buys You « ESL Marriage
  3. Trackback: A Permanent Residency Shaped Email « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
