Not So Rice


I have a problem. It’s my rice cooker. I love it–it cooks rice to perfection every time, it switches to “Warm” automatically, and can even be used to make Cheese Fondue. Oh yes, it can–try it! But, this rice cooker and I have a small issue: it spews sticky, warm rice water all over. Every. Single. Time.

My counter thanks you, Rice Cooker

Someone, please, advise me! I don’t think I’m adding too much water, as I fill it to the line and it is never too watery. Is my rice cooker malfunctioning? Or is this just one of the draw backs of the otherwise wonderful dish called rice?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen R
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:06:06

    Amelia, I have the same one – I bought it after seeing your mom’s. I follow the chart for servings, rather than filling to the line with water. I will have some spatters, but not always and not all over the counter. good luck!

    Reply

  2. Mindy
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 01:30:06

    Maybe try rinsing your rice with water a couple times to remove the excess powder (which I believe is starch). That might help.

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 07:21:39

    I am no help at all – I boil my rice. I tried a microwave type rice cooker and hated it.

    Reply

  4. M
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 15:42:15

    What about leaving a gap to let the steam escape? I can’t tell from this picture if the rice cooker has a built-in valve to let steam escape.

    Reply

  5. Amelia
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 15:44:03

    It has a tiny hole…Maybe it’s not enough? This is a serious problem for us, haha.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
