Learning


I work part-time as a student journalist for my university. On Monday, I covered an event at the university dealing with the rehabilitation of girls rescued from sex-trafficking in Kolkata, India. It was heart-breaking, incredible and inspiring. Did you know that in India, the average age of girls entering the sex industry is 10-14? Did you know that currently approximately 27 million people are enslaved worldwide?!

Tomorrow, I’m covering an event about poverty in India. The speaker is from World Vision (India), and I imagine the event will be incredibly challenging and informative.

Wow. This is heavy stuff, and a lot to digest. But, I’m excited and am amazed at how God is granting me opportunities (two India events?!) to learn.

I’m not sure what these seminars will mean for me/us. But I need to process and will hopefully post some reflections soon.

[Also, I get a kick out of approaching people with a notebook and asking for their thoughts, an interview, etc. It makes me feel like a grown-up to say, “I’m a journalist…”]

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 06:42:00

    Amazing, isn’t it? It is people like you who can spread the word and raise awareness. Good for you!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
