The Hug and Roll


I never would have thought that $20 might save our marriage.

Until I bought a King-sized comforter for our Queen-sized bed.  As newly-weds, I had the great idea of using whatever blankets we had and just “making do”. Well. Sleeping quickly turned in to a game of tug of war as we tried to share a full-sized blanket between us. Finally, I gave in and went to Ikea to buy a new blanket. As I stood looking at the Queen-sized ones, I couldn’t help but think about how the few added inches might not help. I glanced at the king-sized comforters. Much. Bigger.

You know what? I thought, For 2o more bucks I can sleep through the night and we’ll wake up not scowling at one another. Done.

And it worked. No more tug-of-war, no more rolling myself up like a giant burrito. There is more than enough blanket to go around. So I concluded that, besides my other odd sleeping habits, we had figured the whole sleeping thing out.

Except snuggling. Apparently, Varun is not quite the cuddler I am. Every night I snuggle up, and just when I’m falling asleep, Varun shifts positions–away from me. Cold, I wiggle closer (and to his side of the bed). Varun then rolls away, commenting about my “trespasssing”, crossing into his “territory” and taking up “too much room for someone So Small”.

Turns out, I’m not alone. It seems that Varun has learned a common male tactic made famous on Friends for dealing with cuddly women, the Hug and Roll.

(Click here if the video doesn’t work)

Happy Wednesday!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vasudha
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 09:59:02

    “too much room for someone So Small” Hahaha! i can’t laughing.
    Great post! :)

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 18:24:37

    I have always had a King size doona (comforter) on my queen sized bed. For exactly the same reason! Sometimes it means I have to look a bit to find queen sized sheets to match the king sized doona cover, but that is a small price to pay for the extra warmth.

    I have to say, my husband manages to steal the whole thing anyway!

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 18:26:01

    He he he – and Varun and I would get on very well together!!! Must be a common theme of late!!! http://teamoyeniyi.com/2011/10/30/to-spoon-or-not-to-spoon-that-is-the-question/

    Reply

  4. Trackback: To spoon or not to spoon, that is the question! | Love versus Goliath : A Partner Visa Journey
  5. Trackback: Sour Gummy Worms, One Sleeping Bag Too Few, and Awesome Friends « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
