When We Don’t Get Enough Sleep


Recently, Varun and I have not slept much. Because we moved in the middle of the semester, we got far behind in work, schoolwork, life, friends, exercise…And have been working long days to catch up. As a result, we are a bit sleep-deprived and somewhat goofy.

Last night at supper, Varun corrected my pronunciation about an English word. I smirked at him.

Varun: Okay, I’m going to have to teach our children how to speak English.

Me: Um?

Varun: And you can teach them to speak Hindi.

Me: You really want that? Because they won’t be able to speak then.

Varun: Well, it will be good incentive for you to learn Hindi. And it will be entertaining.

**************************************

You know when you’re tired and stressed and nothing makes sense? Luckily, I married someone who knows how to handle My Crazy Side. Last night we were snuggling on the couch and I got tired and stressed and weepy about my day/week/LIFE OMG.

Me: And! I have two papers due. And three books to read before I can write them. And then making dinner next week and driving and volunteering and the seminar and the tires and …And…And the crusades, I mean, it’s just so sad.

Varun: What? Honey, what about the crusades?

Me: (tearing up) We learned about the crusades today and it’s just so sad. The Muslims…and then the Jews….and the serfs didn’t have weapons. And that could have been us. I mean, I’m bad, I might have made that exact same decision. They couldn’t read and Church was in Latin and it’s just.so.sad.

Varun:  It’s okay. (Stroking my head and wondering if I’ve gone insane) Your poor little brain must be so tired. It’s okay.

(I was so tired I didn’t even mind the reference to my “little brain”)

On the upside, I saw an amazing sunset while hacking away at next week’s paper. Have I mentioned that I love our view?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 22:30:51

    I need sleep too :-) this cracked me up . . .

    Reply

  2. olive
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 22:34:22

    your tired conversation sounds like something that happens in our home quite often. :p tired brains get overwhelmed very easily, we’ve discovered. especially when the tired one is me.

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:38:25

      We used to have a rule about no serious conversations after 10 pm. But those teeth-brushing conversations are so tempting to chat about bank accounts, grad school and theology…

      Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 61,829 hits