Pie


By Pie I mean Pie charts, not the good stuff. That will be featured next week, for American Thanksgiving, Canada Style.

Last week my lovely friend Beth asked the following question,  If your brain were a pie chart, how much time do you spend thinking about _____? How does it compare to ten years ago?

So of course, all week my pie chart had one thought: find out what I think about. Which of course didn’t work because my pie chart would be one blob of thought monitoring. So today over breakfast I busted out the markers and penned this work of art. Okay, a few disclaimers. First, I hesitate to post this on the World Wide Web because it is my thought life, but then again, why hold back now? Also, this is a rough estimate, if I’m honest, I really have no clue what I think about. Also, I didn’t want to put God in there because it makes me look like I’m trying to sound uber spiritual, but the reality is, a lot of our decisions, conversations, etc hinge on our faith. *Please pardon the misshapen maple leaf.

Now. 2001 was not one of my finest hours. I was in grade 9, awkward and stuck between childhood and teenagerdom. This is what 25 year old Amelia thinks 15 year old Amelia was thinking about. Oh Teenage Amelia, if I could only tell you what I know now…

Notes: I spent a lot of time hanging out with and teasing my brothers. I also didn’t think about clothes much, not because I was less shallow (I wasn’t), but because I went to Catholic school and wore a uniform, hence the category “ribbons”. That would be hair ribbons. Too cool. Also, I was ridiculously boy crazy. Like seriously.

So, what’s your pie chart look like? Please share with the class slash help me not feel like such a loser!

(Also, I just found out it’s the 18th, not the 17th. We are off to a GREAT start today)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 19:18:50

    The “Ribbons” section TOTALLY confused me at first. Thanks for the explanation. And for the participation :) I’m about to post mine!

    Reply

  2. Patrick J. Rafferty
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 21:30:43

    Curious how your 2001 “boys” is the exact same area as your 2011 “Varun” Hmmm…..
    I notice that Varun and the future aren’t even touching one another. Does that mean that when you think about the future, you’re not thinking about Varun? eeeks!
    And food: any chance you underestimated that slice of the pie? Eh?
    I think mine is more like a real pie. You know, 3-D. I mean, who just thinks about one thing at a time!
    Thanks, Amelia, for the challenge.

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Nov 20, 2011 @ 21:33:48

      Leave it to my Dad to sass me online. Unlike some people, I don’t do everything systematically: there is no meaning in terms of what’s touching and what’s not. What do I look like, a scientist?! Re: food: stop selling me out online, haha. I will bake you a real pie if you send me a 3-D image of your mind pie. Do it!!!

      Reply

  3. Ryan Miller
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 16:09:18

    I must say that I really can’t picture the sassy freshman Amelia that I met at BC as boy-crazy….

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
