Pre-Thanksgiving Thoughts


This weekend was crazy busy. Varun has been working over time and I have loads of schoolwork, but somehow we packed the weekend full of friends and other fun stuff. Yesterday, we went to an all day seminar by Hope for Orphans for families considering adoption. It was informative, gut-wrenching, exciting and inspiring. Then, last night we went to an event hosted by a friend of friend to raise funds and awareness for an amazing organization, Africa Arise. It was heartbreaking to hear stories of men, women and children who have experienced 23 years of war in Northern Uganda, and so exciting to hear how counselling, discipleship and skills training are helping to restore to them what has been lost. All told, it was a tiring but awesome weekend. I am still processing and will probably blog in the future about one or both of these events.

Something very exciting is happening soon. My fabulous sister-in-law, Vasudha, and hilarious cousin, Kartik, are coming to visit for American Thanksgiving. This will involve: nachos (with spicy cheese and hot salsa), beer, late night talks, lots of baking and chocolate…and much, much more.

This will be my SIXTH American thanksgiving celebrated not in the USA. Looking back, it’s fun to remember how I marked the day despite classes and it being a non-holiday. {Note: some of these are goofy pictures. Some are terrible. Allow me this brief moment of nostalgia…}

2005: Ate cafeteria food with American friends (Southern England) {Not worth a picture. It was the same meal for 180 days straight}

2006: Cooked turkey and enjoyed Thanksgiving–Texas style (Montreal)

Don't judge. This was a long time ago.

2007: Took a carload of Canadians home to Philadelphia to celebrate in the motherland (U.S.A!)

Dance Party-bollywood music and a Christmas tree. These are some of the funnest (it needs to be a word right now) people in the world.

Yes, my brothers put me in the net intended to wrap the Christmas tree.

.

.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2008: My lovely American/Canadian roommate and I cooked thanksgiving dinner for friends & my fantastic younger brother Luke flew all the way to Vancouver to help us celebrate (Vancouver)
 

Fun with Luke on the beach, Thanksgiving 2008

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

2009: Celebrated with my staff team, one of whom is American/Canadian (although I think she’d say Canadian/American) (Vancouver)

Varun, dreaming about turkey

2010: Met my brothers and Varun’s sister in upstate NY to freeze our bums off in a cabin, Had supper at an American family’s house whom we met at Church, it was our first real invitation in Ontario!  (Mississauga)

Varun, Vasudha and I. All bundled up.

The brothers playing a ridiculous hitting game.

.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 .
 
 
So, now that I’ve bored you to tears, I have a question. How do you celebrate Thanksgiving? I feel like this incredibly important holiday could be quite meaningful, but usually I just end up wishing I didn’t have to go to school/work on a US holiday, overeating and falling asleep on someone’s couch. I’m all about creating new traditions and making things meaningful…so, How do you incorporate gratitude into an otherwise commercialized day?
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aban
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:16:44

    is it sad that the hitting game got me really excited? is it the ninja game? i LOVE the ninja game.

    i hope your’e having a wonderful american thanksgiving.

    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:37:11

      No, it’s not sad. It just means that my brothers would love you and accept you and probably give you bruises. The ninja game? Maybe. It involves everyone standing in a circle and you only get to move one body part per turn…while the other person can move one body part at the same time? All I know is the scream and shout and things get ripped. And they look super goofy.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: American Thanksgiving « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
