The Lasagna Challenge


Having gone to a Catholic high school, nearly everyone I knew had Irish or Italian roots. To me, that’s normal. So I suppose in my blogging, my Southern Pennsylvania culture doesn’t come up much. This, of course, is why God gave us sisters: for correction inspiration. Enter the Lasagna Challenge. After a conversation that included the sentence, “What do you mean you don’t cook lasagna?” and “Please tell me you own a coffee pot…Okay, at least a tea kettle!?”, my sister has challenged me to venture into the realm of cheesy goodness that is my Italian side. So, once a month for the next three (at least) months, I will make a lasagna a month and tell you ALL about it.

Now, in my defense, I don’t regularly make lasagna (errr–Ever. Mom: How have you never made lasagna? What did I teach you, anyway?) because I find the cheese to be an expensive add-in. But let me tell you, I made Classic  Lasagna last night and it was delicious, and so worth it!

I forgot to mention the last part of the challenge: I have to follow the directions. All of them. Without skipping or improvising. This is SO. HARD. I had to stop myself yesterday from throwing in random veggies, cutting out cheese, etc. Actually, let’s be honest. I’m terrible at directions and ended up getting so distracted by them that I ended up with four extra noodles (Mom: That’s because you missed a layer. Me: No, it’s because they put too many noodles in the box)(Loved the running commentary of my Mom on the phone who told me her grandparents would be rolling in their graves to know I wasn’t using hard-boiled eggs in my lasagna. We agree that’s just too gross to consider).

In terms of cost, it’s fairly cost-effective:

ricotta: 5.58
no boil noodles: 1.99
pasta sauce: 3.99
mozzarella: 4.98
parmesan; 5.00
basil: 1.79 = 23.33

8 portions: $2.91/portion

Oh, and a word about ricotta cheese. In my world, this is a staple and is delicious and should be in every grocery store. However, I’m not sure whether it’s a Canada thing or a not-Italian-city thing or a living-inner-city thing, but ricotta was a two-grocery-store-item. I was not amused to have to hunt for ricotta cheese. But I’d say that’s a first world problem. I digress.

Bottom line? Lasagna is a great dish to make for company as it’s filling, makes the house smell amazing and bakes while you wash dishes and shove things in closets clean.

Have a favorite lasagna recipe you’d like me to try? Or, want to bribe me to make lasagna for you? I accept bribes in the form of pumpkin spice lattes, brownies and cash.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ryan Miller
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 19:32:18

    So, while I support you making lasagna, I don’t really understand why anyone would try to resist the urge to add random delicious vegetables….

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 07:02:46

    Doesn’t sound like lasagne to me. Where is the mortadella? There is no ricotta in lasagne. Whate are Americans doing to a perfectly good Italian dish??????

    NOODLES???? In Lasagne???

    Aaaaargggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    I’ll have to get you a proper recipe!!! :lol:

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Nov 27, 2011 @ 22:49:58

      Your post left me scratching my head. I’m dying to see this “proper” recipe, haha. I’ll have to try making lasagne, Aussie style. What’s wrong with noodles?

      -Confused

      Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 15:33:31

    This is close, although I rarely use spinich: http://gothamist.com/2004/11/23/eating_in_via_emilias_traditional_lasagna.php

    Here is the pasta (wth a very bad receipie for lasagne included!) http://www.leggos.com.au/our-range/fresh-pasta-and-sauce/fresh-pasta/lasagne-sheets-360g

    Reply

  4. Team Oyeniyi
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 15:34:15

    Noodles are Asian, pasta is Italian – LOL – although perhaps you northern types use the words interchangeably!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Lasagna Challenge, Part 2 « ESL Marriage

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
