American Thanksgiving


Can I just say that the number of texts and Facebook wishes from my Canadian friends wishing me a Happy (American) Thanksgiving was lovely?! It was! This blog is a NAFTA dream come true. Anyway. Our thanksgiving celebrations were fantastic.

Vasudha and I baked two pumpkin pies, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and a delicious/amazing apple pie (recipe to come). Also we made guacamole. And magic cookie bars (Not magic brownies, although there was some confusion about that). We went to an American friend’s house for a potluck dinner on Friday (ie, “American Thanksgiving in Canada Day”) and feasted on turkey and stuffing while discussing immigration woes and what brought us to the Cold White North.

We had so much fun that I forgot to take pictures. I heard more confusing and hilarious stories from Varun’s childhood and had a ton of fun having a sister (-in-law) around to do girly things like bake, shop and straighten hair. All told: it was a fantastic, tiring and still-happening-weekend. If you’ll excuse me, I have a few Indian Buddies to beat at Monopoly Deal.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vasudha
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 23:38:37

    Amelia: (to kartik) …and you can also have the chocolate chip cookies.
    me: (blank–guilty face)
    Amelia: What, you ate them? ALL?
    me: ummm…

    Hahaha, sorry about that. Had so much fun baking with you.

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 00:11:43

      Haha. Yeah, I’m not the most tactful. I’m pretty sure I then said, “I didn’t mean YOU ate them all. I mean…okay, yeah..you”. In other words, YUM. I had fun too!

      Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 13:05:53

    a nafta dream come true.

    HA!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
