The One Where I Rant About The SuperBowl


Let me preface this by saying I don’t hate football nor do I hate football fans. And by football I mean American football, which has nothing to do with feet. I do not mean soccer, which the rest of the world intelligently calls “football”. Anyway. Remember when I said that many in the west make unloving and self-serving choices? Well, if we needed further proof of the slow decline of western civilization, here it is:

Nearly one in five Americans would miss the birth of their own baby to attend the Superbowl.

This is staggering. The survey results go on to report that 19% would miss the funeral of a loved one and 20% would miss the wedding of a close friend. I’m sorry: WHAT?!

I’m trying to imagine what could make me miss the funeral of a loved one, the birth of my child (that would be tricky to miss) or the wedding of a close friend. Nothing. Nothing would make me miss those! (Besides. Aren’t those the trump cards that get you out of everything else?)

I find it frightening that 1 in 5 adults values a sport more than their family and once-in-a-lifetime precious moments. Now, I realize there remains a sane 80%. But come to think of it, about 50% of the population is female and couldn’t miss the birth of their own child…so that means that about 1 in 2 guys voted that yes, they would. I realize I’m not a football fan so it’s hard for me to empathize. But this is wildly distressing.

What are your thoughts? Does missing the birth of your child in any way make sense?! Are we witnessing the slow decline of the cultural and moral ideals of the West?

On the other hand, can we get a round of applause for the group of Nuns who are working with hotels within a 50 mile radius of the SuperBowl to identify and stop sex-trafficking which is closely linked to large sports events?! These nuns renew my faith in humanity’s ability to work for love and justice.

Anyway. I’m going with Maxine on this one…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelli Oliver George
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 12:26:30

    This is the one where I rant about surveys that have absolutely NO meaning in the true statistical sense. In short, I am calling bullshit. :-D

    Who did they call? In which geographical locations? How many did they call? How was the sample size selected?

    Seriously, that survey means NOTHING and was just a convenient, cheap headline. My Indian husband is hardcore when it comes to NFL, but I know he would not have missed our kids’ births for the Superbowl.

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 18:44:14

    Someone commented on my latest article that the salaries annoy the hell out of her – and I agree.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,838 hits
