Sick Days and Bollywood and Daft Bets


One of the perks of being sick is that you can watch endless numbers of TV shows and movies and not feel guilty. Okay that’s a lie. Maybe in someone else’s world this works, but for me the pattern is something like this: wake up with a ridiculously sore throat. do something productive. feel sick. nap. watch a movie. feel guilty. try to be productive. feel sick. watch a show. Do this on repeat for about 4 days and that’s where we find ourselves.

So yesterday, in an attempt to be both productive and to rest, I decided to watch a Bollywood movie with no subtitles. I get to rest, and learn Hindi. Everybody wins.

Dil Chata Hai (The Heart Desires) is a great movie about friendship, love and shiny tight pants. I think. It was in Hindi though, so it’s really anyone’s guess.

Anyway. This music video is a favorite in this house. It means, “Wonder Why?”. In case you can’t tell, *spoiler alert* they’re not dating and she is pretending she doesn’t want to…when in fact she is madly in love with him.

As we were getting ready to sleep, I was looking at the box and realized one of the actresses’ name is Dimple. I found this wildly amusing and asked Varun if that’s a normal Indian name. He remarked that it never seemed funny to him when he lived in India.

Me: Great. So that can be our third child’s name. Dimple. So it’ll be Tortellini, Frankenstein and Dimple.*

Varun: Oh, so you’ve finally decided to agree with me?

Me: Yup. I’m going to be an agreeable wife now.

Varun: Wow. Ha. I wonder how long that will last.

Me: (Demurely) Yes, I wonder too.

Varun: (look of bemusement) (brainstorming how to get me to disagree)

*In case you’re wondering about the projected names of our first two children, prepare for utter confusion.

Once upon a time, when I was young and engaged and foolish, Varun and I were playing Fussball and it was 9-9. Blinded by my desire to win, I made the following bet, “Okay, whoever wins gets to name our first child”. No sooner were the words out of my mouth than Varun slammed the ball into the goal and shouted, “FRANKENSTEIN!” I laughed uneasily as he taunted me with his win.

Fast forward 6 months. Varun and I were waiting in the airport to pick one of Varun’s groomsmen and I made the fateful mistake of betting. Again. “Okay, let’s guess the number of people who will come out before Corey. If I win, I get the first child’s name back. If you win, you get the second child”. Oh Amelia of 2009, if only you knew. Varun won. Much to my amusement he somehow settled on the name Tortellini. (This is our favorite pasta. So go figure.) Every time this comes up he does this goofy/serious thing of “But you promised, Amelia. You can name the next ones”. Needless to say, I’m not really sure if “Dimple” would be an improvement or not…

So, to recap: Watch Dil Chata Hai. Bring me chicken noodle soup. Take some time in the next 2-4 years helping Varun brainstorm *reasonable* baby names. Be careful when making bets with Varun.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 11:30:27

    OMG! I thought I was nuts at first, but I looked it up on Wikipedia and this is indeed one of the, like, two Bollywood movies I’ve seen! I watched it when I was 17, with some co-workers (I worked at a college cafeteria, which was quite diverse!). Two Indian guys were showing it to me and an African girl. I liked it, but I don’t have the patience for such long movies, and my husband has *zero* interest in Bollywood (though we’ve seen a few more independent, dance-less films and liked them).

    I find that it actually does help to take a day or two to FULLY rest. I justify it because I’m more productive if I get better in a few days than if I spend two weeks struggling to get by. And unfortunately, I nagged my husband to stay in bed, and now he believes it and won’t let me keep pushing myself when I’m sick. Ugh.

    Reply

  2. Joanna
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 18:57:27

    Hahahaha oh my goodness the name thing killed me!

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 05:30:14

    I’ll have to come back to watch the video – the soccer is too loud right now – but the whole names thing killed me!! :lol: :lol:

    Please, please don’t name the poor kid after a pasta variety. True story, I know someone who names their child Pablo. While a perfectly good name in some countries (they were 5th generation Aussies though), here Pablo is a VERY VERY cheap brand of coffee.

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 09:51:49

      Your comment further proved that cultural differences will never cease to amuse me….Pablo is actually a legit name here, I have a friend with that name! I couldn’t figure out why you were so adamant until I read that it’s the name of cheap coffee. Too funny!

      Don’t worry, we will NOT be naming our children after 18th Century mad scientists or pastas.

      Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
