Metres vs. Yards


Can we talk about something?

America, we’ve got to do something about the US Customary Units System: Feet. Inches. Fahrenheit. The whole nine yards.

I’ve said this before, but the use of these goofy units of measure makes no sense. The metric system is used in the US by the armed forces “and in fields relating to science, and increasingly in medicine, aviation, and government as well as various sectors of industry” (Source: Wikipedia. Because on the blogosphere, that’s a pretty legit source). And it’s used in every country except Burma, Liberia and the U.S. And it makes sense!

While I don't like the use of the word "retarded", this is an otherwise fabulous diagram

I don’t mean to rant. But after living outside of the U.S. for 7 years, I have gotten very comfortable with using the metric system. Sometimes, Canadians are surprised when I remark on the weather in degrees Celsius. It’s not that I’ve forgotten Fahrenheit or am being pretentious. It just makes sense. And besides, it sounds much colder when you say it’s 0°C than it does when you say it’s 32°F.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:56:15

    Clap, clap, clap!!! :lol: Yes, I find it a nightmare everytime I go to the USA. Yet they have dollars and cents! Which is decimal (metric, in other words) Go figure!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 14:55:19

    I find that Canadians, in QC at least, tend to “month-day-year” too. It drives me crazy.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
