Les Petits Choses


Man is fond of counting his troubles, but he does not count his joys. If he counted them up as he ought to, he would see that every lot has enough happiness provided for it“.  -Dostoyevsky

1. Friday afternoon tea with my dear friend Beth. We talked about boys, authentic community, old friends and dreams for the future. I later remarked to Varun that I love hanging out with Beth because she’s one of my oldest friends whom I still see regularly. Varun and I marveled at how much transition our lives have gone through that someone I met in 2008 is one of my “oldest” friends. In any case, she is lovely.

2. Healthcare. After falling and scraping up my palms, Varun and I sat in the E.R. observing nurses and patients and guessing at people’s ailments. After receiving caring attention from the Doctor, extra bandages and a great prognosis, we left the hospital less than 2 hours after arriving. We grinned that a trip to the E.R. was so uneventful–such a small thing. We were thankful that we live in a place where we have healthcare, skilled Dr.’s and everyone has a right to medical care.

3. This week, I also rediscovered the Kiwi.

There’s really nothing to say except: Go buy kiwis. Devour. Repeat.

4. My husband. I find so much joy in being married to Varun. Much of the time, he amuses me to no end. Yesterday, he blew my mind. While I pathetically tried to clear off the table with bandaged hands, he ran to the white board with an epiphany.

This is about 1/4 of his sketch. He asked me to email it to him so he can work on it today. I think it has something to do with a bridge he’s monitoring for work…Um, I know.  [Yesterday, I helped Varun with his performance review. As we talked through his projects and accomplishments it struck me just how smart and how hard working he is. Seriously, look at that diagram.

Me: So, I think you’re a wayyy bigger nerd than I usually think.

Varun: Why?

Me: Um. You just said, “My greatest strength is physics and mathematics.”

(I can’t help but smile thinking about this…)]

I’m thankful that my smart and nerdy hubby loves me. I’m thankful that he gracefully washed dishes all week and exhorted me to rest my hands.

What about you? What brought a smile to your face this week?!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 11:38:17

    I will tell you, Friday afternoon coffee was one of my week’s highlights. Particularly when we ended up curled on couches, and my eyes were closed but we were still talking about meaningful things.

    Smiling again just thinking of it.

    Reply

  2. Blizza
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 11:59:57

    Hi! I discovered your blog about a couple of weeks ago and Love it! :)

    – There were two things this week that brought a smile to my face
    1) My boyfriend knows that I want to learn tamil for when I meet his parents, so after purchasing a “learn tamil” CD from his recent trip to Bangalore, he noticed I was having trouble… it goes so fast and certain words sound the same. One day he said ” I’ll teach you” He’s been teaching me little things like ” I want to learn to cook” ( he’s been getting on my for “refusing” to cook for him lol) So that made me smile
    2) I have been having a rough week this semester in grad school and I had a 12-15 page research paper due and a midterm and last night after getting out of the midterm I had a full blown out headache that was starting to turn into a migraine. When he found out he was willing to drive 30 minutes from his place to mine to pick me up to take me back to his place, I live with my family in total there are six people living here lol. So there was always noise and lights and so on and so forth. So yeah just the thought of him putting aside his thesis work to come and take care of me just made me feel like the luckiest girl ever.

    *** sorry it was long… I have a problem with being too detailed when I write/speak*** lol.

    Reply

  3. Bernice
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 22:55:54

    have you had yellow/golden kiwi’s before? I find them lots yummier than green ones. less tart, sweeter, and a bit firmer texture especially around the seeds.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,839 hits
