So, this happened…


Yes, that is a shattered iPod screen. And yes, this is my iPod: my running buddy, my food and health tracker, my headache curer (see the open app on the right photo), and my source of free texts to the U.S. of A.

Just to clarify, I did not use a drill on the iPod screen. Let me explain. It all started about two months ago when my sister sent me a chart of her sleeping patterns. Intrigued and feeling like my competitive self, I downloaded the app and tracked my own sleep. For weeks. I became a fervent (obnoxious) disciple and convinced friends to download the sleep cycle alarm clock. Get this: it tracks your sleep cycle and wakes you up at an optimal time within a 30 minute range that you set.

Apparently I'm not so big on the deep sleep...

This means that instead of jolting out of bed, heart racing and wide awake when my alarm blares, I awaken slowly to the gentle melody of my sleep cycle clock just at the moment that I’m naturally waking up or shifting cycles. Best 99 cents I’ve ever spent. Some people, like my live-in-engineer/husband, don’t believe that this app can work on a bed that two people sleep on. Every night as I set the alarm clock and tuck it under the sheet, Varun begins questioning the sensitivity of the sensors and the accelerometer and whether they can detect my sleep movements versus his.

Okay. I had a point in here, somewhere. Yes, the untimely demise of Monsiuer iPod. Sooo…it was on my bed, but I didn’t tuck it under the sheet. It slid off of the bed and landed on a curtain rod which I had put under my bed for storage. In my dream world, technology bounces, so I wasn’t too worried about it. Until I reached under the bed to retrieve the iPod and set my alarm clock. And that’s when I saw the spider web cracks. I’ll be honest: I teared up. At 11 pm with the prospect of 6 hours of sleep and a mutilated iPod, it was all I could do not to curl up and cry.

However, being the morning person that I am, I took one look at it in the morning light and shrugged. I think I can get a few more weeks out of it before the glass comes out. After that, I’m not sure if I’ll get a new iPod. We have an old nano kicking around, and it’s kind of vintage.  And anyway, I’m trying to really purchase carefully and intentionally, and I’m not convinced it’s a necessity. Although if I have to go back to the nuclear fall-out warning volume alarm clocks, I’m not sure I’ll be able to handle it…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 08:54:00

    what about the app where you were learning ‘k’ for kachua..I liked that app! :)

    Reply

  2. Team Oyeniyi
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 04:33:08

    I’m with Varun on this one, I have to say…..

    Reply

  3. Reb
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 17:31:03

    That is a super easy fix! My husband broke the glass on his and fixed it for about $20 with parts he bought off of ebay!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
