Grace, Love and Cake


I have a very strange habit of preparing elaborate meals full of never-before-tried dishes when I have company over. Like yesterday. We had 7 friends over (plus 1 baby and 1 toddler), which, if you consider the size of our apartment, is no small feat. I decided to make lamb for Easter Lunch. I thought that would simple. On Saturday morning I went to the farmer’s market. I checked 3 stalls and no one had lamb. The fourth and last wanted $40 for 1.5 kg of lamb and one hair stuck in the flesh. Um, no thanks. Next, I tried the grocery store: no dice. Recognizing that procrastination is the key to success, I put off checking another store until Saturday night. Varun and I found a lamb shoulder and a sign saying they were out of lamb legs. Doubtful and unsure what the difference is, we bought it. I then went home and prepped it for the crock pot and began making Martha Stewart’s Coconut Layer Cake.

Buddies. Why did no one stage an intervention? I’m not a fantastic baker. I don’t function well after dark. And I’ve never baked a white cake. So why did I embark on this after the witching hour (which for me, is 9:30)?!

11 P.M.: Assembling the cake per Martha's instructions

Can we just look at the shape of these cakes for a moment? Do you see the ruffled edges? This is what happens when people (ie, me) don’t cut parchment paper to line the cake pans and just throw it in. The parchment paper fights back.

Chevron cake edges: all the rage.

Anyway. Remember how I don’t read recipes well/thoroughly and hate details? Yeah, didn’t have enough store bought frosting so I had to make some myself. Now there’s an exercise for 11:45 at night. Luckily, Varun has been nursing a Hunger Games addiction and was wide awake, listening to the book and making a midnight snack of spicy Indian noodles, Maggi.

Is that the abominable snow monster? Or a cake?

As soon as I cut into the cake on Sunday afternoon, I realized my mistake: I used whole wheat flour instead of white. It was like a granola bar, with coconut frosting. Mmmm. Breakfast of Champions.

Besides my cake drama, the lunch went beautifully. Our guests were all friends we’ve met in our neighborhood, and they enjoyed getting to know one another. We played Monopoly Deal, scribbled with our friend’s toddler, enjoyed (well-cooked!) lamb and got to drink tons of yummy chai, courtesy of Varun. It was such a fun experience to open our home to friends who don’t have family nearby or wouldn’t otherwise celebrate Easter; they brought joy, tulips, laughter, lilies, cheesecake and conversation to our house. Somehow, they were gracious with my hosting craziness, tolerant of the lack of cutlery and amused by my ignorance about cooking lamb. And I think that’s what Easter is all about: grace and love.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth (@bethaf)
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 20:29:00

    love this! a great story.

    can’t wait to let you host me for dinner sometime :)

    Reply

  2. Amelia
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 21:52:27

    oh yes! do let me host you! I promise there will be plenty of cake and panic to go around :-)

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 07:47:14

    I LOVE the ruffled cake edges!!! That gave me a good laugh this morning.

    Reply

  4. Jess
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 14:06:28

    love! i don’t know how to cook lamb…but i feel like this is something people should know how to do. good job amelia!

    Reply

  5. Julie
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 19:04:40

    I LOVE the ruffled edges!

    I don’t know how to cook lamb either… even though my bother now raises lamb. (I know where you can get some next time the store doesn’t have any… if you’re in Alberta. :oP)

    Reply

  6. Amelia
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 08:02:53

    Wow, I had no idea ruffled cake edges were so awesome. Seems I’ve started a trend, haha.

    Reply

  7. Team Oyeniyi
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:16:11

    When are sending some over this way? YUMMY!!!

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
