My Life in Olympics


All of this Olympic excitement is making me nostalgic. Was it already one Olympics ago that we moved to Ontario? Has it seriously been two Winter Olympics since I left home? (Have I really gotten to the age where I measure my life in Olympics?) Okay, while I go dissolve into a puddle of teary recollections, you get to see My Life In Olympics.

Apparently, as a child and teenager, I was not taking pictures of myself to mark the Olympics. Those were the days when watching athletes inspired me to play outside, jump on the trampoline and commit to Ab-Building-Contests in the hopes that one day I might have abs (HA!).

So, we begin with Torino, 2006. I was studying abroad in England and went with friends to see Canadian Men win Ice Hockey. Yes, those were the days when I went with friends to Italy for the weekend.

Why are we so asymmetrical?

The summer Olympics in Bejing, 2008, happened the summer I got engaged, got a Big Kid job and moved out West. I remember watching the games in my hostel, awkwardly making small talk with my roommates. I think these were the Olympics that inspired me to train like an athlete.

That was the summer I ran a 5k. Oh right, that was also the summer I discovered I lived 8 blocks from these cinnamon buns. (One can always begin training for the Olympics tomorrow, right?)

Varun and I had the once in a lifetime opportunity to live in the Olympic city for the Vancouver Olympics, 2010. We were newlyweds struggling to make ends meet in a city far from either of our families. For about six weeks beforehand, the entire city lived and breathed Olympics. We endured long lines at transit terminals, an influx of tourists and constant ridicule about our lack of snow. But we’ll be honest, I think the whole city loved the excitement.

And here we are, London 2012. We live in Ontario, have been married too long to be newlyweds and have barely noticed the Olympics. We’re in that very settled, very busy and social chapter of life. Suddenly, we’re older than the average Olympic athlete. The I Could Do That When I Grow Up window has looong been closed.

Not having a TV and not living or traveling to the Olympic City has seriously affected our Olympic Mania. It’s more of an Awareness at this point. But we are on top of our youtube videos of Olympic highlights. I’m hoping that maybe if I watch this video of the Queen and James Bond enough, the Queen’s athleticism will inspire me to new heights….

Olympics? What Olympics? This is the Summer of Ice Cream.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth (@bethaf)
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 16:01:49

    Youtube??

    Friend. Stream it live and watch all the recaps on ctvolympics.ca

    Also crazy: I have been a part of your life for 3 Olympics.

    Reply

    • Amelia Rana
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 16:03:32

      Haha, I love that we can measure our friendship in Olympics. Huzzah. Maybe I forget to mention that this is the Olympics where I’ve had the least free time. Live-streaming might equal the demise of my job and schoolwork….

      Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,816 hits
