The Strange Things We Say


This weekend, we were heading to a super awesome wedding. The Bride and Groom had requested that, due to fragrance allergies, we refrain from perfumes and aftershave. Fair enough.
Me: Crap. I should have brought more deodorant. I’m going to stink like a donkey by the reception.

Varun: Just stay by me. People will assume it’s me ‘cuz I’m Indian. Even though my sweat has no smell.

Me: What’s with that, by the way? How do you have no smell?

Varun: (Grins). You know, you should eat more butter chicken.

Me: Please connect the dots for me.

Varun: That way, your sweat will smell tasty.

{i love my husband}

_____________________________

Speaking of animals, and food, yesterday we were at a friend’s house for supper. Varun was entertaining our 3 year old buddy with animal noises. I was scheming with said 3 year old. We suggested Varun make a rabbit noise. He made two buck teeth with his fingers and chewed noisily. Not bad. We suggested he do a chicken, followed by a chicken’s husband (I thought “rooster” would be a bit confusing for this particular crowd).

To his eternal credit and my undying amusement, Varun deepened his voice an octave, and said, “BOWCK BOWCK BOWCK”, in his manliest chicken voice.

My toddler buddy and I burst out laughing.

Me: Varun, a rooster.

Varun: (insert strange bird-like noise here)

Me: Um. Usually we just say “cockle doodle doo!”

Varun: HA! That sounds like an American rooster.

3 year old: cockle doodle doo! cockle doodle doo!!!! cockle doodle DOO!!!

Varun: Okay, fine who can guess this noise? (very strange noise)

(silence)

Varun: It’s a peacock.

(silence)

_____________________________

The other day, I asked Varun his thoughts on whether I blogged about a particular issue.

Varun: Well, I’m not sure how I feel about sharing details of our life with the internet. What do you think about that?

Me: Um, well…(nervous laughter)…I think I’m pretty much pro-that. Um…You’ve read my blog, right?

Michael Scott and I have many things in common, including a lack of filter

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justine
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:28:48

    I always think it’s interesting the different sounds animals make in different languages… Also, I’m a total over-sharer, too! I love reading your blog and I often laugh out loud and the convos between you and your husband. :) You guys seem so fun! :)

    Reply

  2. Kathryn
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 08:36:12

    Amelia, after reading the title of this blog one story comes to mind!! It was March 2011; I had been in Arizona for about 8 months. I was talking with Etta (a 75 year old Navajo woman at my work!). We were enjoying lunch and I used the word “water” (pronounced “wooder” with my south jersey accent). Immediately, another coworker turns around and proceeds to make fun of me (for the thousandth time!) for how I pronounced it. Etta turns to me and goes (in a quiet tone and rather expressionless face) O this whole time I never understood what you were saying when you said that word. I immediately responded “ETTA….I have been here for what 8 months and you never understood me one time!!!” Amelia we laughed sooooo hard. I mean come on you definitely say the word water on a daily basis!

    Reply

  3. Jinny
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 21:50:52

    Oh you guys make me laugh!!! I miss you.

    Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 60,818 hits
