Big Announcement…


We’re excited to announce that we are adopting a child from India!

We’re gonna have a child!!!!!! WOO!!

[*Party!*]

Let’s start from the beginning. When Varun and I were dating, we talked about kids–how many we wanted, when we should have them, etc. I shared with Varun that I felt called to adopt; several close friends of mine had been adopted, as were two of my darling cousins. As such, it has always seemed a natural and loving way to build a family.

Over the years, God has brought various families into our life who have shared their journeys in adopting children with us. Last year, we began reading and thinking about adoption. After Varun read Adopted for Life, we knew adoption would be a way that we grew our family.
We thought about it carefully, prayed, did research, talked with adoptive families and chatted with our own families. Finally, we decided in June 2012 to begin growing our family by adopting a child from India. We are adding to our family through adoption before we consider adding to our family biologically. (There’s lots of practical and ideological conversations to have about this, so I’ll probably add to my new FAQ page later.)

This week, we got our approval from the Ontario Ministry of Child and Youth Services! This is a huge milestone and means that our file can go to India and the waiting game can begin.

Despite the piles of paperwork, the home study, the government mandated parenting classes…it all still feels a bit surreal. It will likely be over 2 years (if not 3!!) before we bring our child home. (Here’s our timeline…) In the mean time, we are lovingly preparing a home for the special little one that will join our family.

(Believe it or not, we decided this in June and I didn’t blog about it for four months! Let’s be honest, I started a word doc and blogged Creed style. Anyway.)

(Not to worry, we won’t actually put chai in the baby’s bottle. At least not caffeinated…)

Special thanks to Shelly Spithoff for the amazing photos! We had so much fun taking them and they turned out beautifully! Stop by her website to get a peek at her awesome work.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 14:12:16

    Ahhh!!! The pictures are adorable! I didn’t see that the third “cup” was a bottle until the last couple pics. I cracked up. Congratulations on the approval!

    Reply

  2. Tim Chan
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 14:41:04

    That’s a big and wonderful decision – congrats! And I love the photos too, great work Shelly.

    Reply

  3. Chantel Klassen (@chantelklassen)
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 15:25:05

    What a cute announcement! And I totally love the photos!!! So precious!

    Reply

  4. Niyam Rana Gulati
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:38:12

    I think its a great idea.Not everyone can do this.Keep it up!
    And all the best.

    Reply

  5. Dana
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:57:43

    Congratulations … and God grant you patience and wisdom in the waiting and mountains of red tape (worth it) until the home has the pitter patter of little feet.

    Reply

  6. auntie k
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 19:01:59

    That’s so exciting..congrats!! These pictures turned out beautiful! :)

    Reply

  7. bornbyariver
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 00:03:13

    We are dreaming about adoption as well and India is near the top of the list. Best wishes to your family!

    Reply

  8. Eeleah
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 11:02:19

    so excited for you guys!!!! love the pictures!!

    Reply

  9. Eric Klaszus
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 11:17:00

    Hey you two — just wanted to congratulate you both on your journey! Wishing you all the best, and a smooth ride through all of the red tape. cheers!!!

    Reply

  10. MC
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 11:26:15

    I love the photos Amelia – especially the bottle! So happy you guys have your approval and are well on your way! Congratulations:)

    Reply

  11. American Punjaban
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 21:35:33

    Congratulations! I would love to adopt a beautiful little Indian girl. I love babies.

    Reply

  12. lonismitsLoni
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 18:59:37

    Beautiful announcement for beautiful news!!! Way to go, you two!

    Reply

  13. Nirmal Mozumdar
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 10:48:10

    You both are very evolved souls..who know humanity oneness rather than feeling only for blood relations… what a bold,beautiful and beneficial decision you people have taken…my best wishes , God bless..I can only imagine what a lucky that baby is going to be,who had ties with you in the past lives…<3

    Reply

  14. Kristen
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:21:22

    Hey Amelia!!! This is fantastic news, especially about your RIPA!!!! If you get your referral before I go back, you should let me know and I will take pictures for you :) I’m so excited!!!!

    Reply

    • Amelia
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:28:15

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m so glad to have found someone else who has the same RIPA. And yes, if we get a referral by then, I would LOVE to have you take pictures for us!!!!

      I’m curious, any idea what the timeline is for referrals?

      Reply

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

Categories

Visitors

  • 61,833 hits